Sunday, May 20, 2007

bonafide bad-ass.


Fine, fine, riding a motorcycle does not technically make you a bad-ass. I mean if we're really splitting hairs I'm the same little dweeb in slightly less slow motion. But it was a pretty cool feeling mastering the Big Bike. I earned my motorcycle license last weekend, taking the skills test (figure 8's, hard stopping) in what would have passed as a monsoon. And although I needed the license for a 150cc scooter, I had to learn to drive a regular motorcycle to pass. Dangerous. Because I had so much fun that now I want a Ninja of my very own.

But for now this monster scooter does the job. It's lightweight but picks right up, corners tightly, and I've taken it over 50 mph easily. It's too light to take any faster, though, and that's fine: I too operate best at lower speeds. :) And as I'm not vehicularly inclined, my friend Joe's been instrumental in getting the bike on the road, from showing me how to change the oil at 2 am (and... um... understand the battery and the buttons) to helping me get used to being out there in traffic before actually driving in it.

If you catch this Joe, you are a good friend for spending all the time and not ridiculing me when I screamed every time we turned a corner and giggled like a ten-year-old for hitting 25 mph. Someday, if there is no trash to carry, I'LL drive YOU home from work. And scream and giggle turning corners. (Sorry. Some things don't change.)

No comments:

Post a Comment